Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Experience can train inexperienced welders
- - By dschlotz (***) Date 03-25-2014 15:30
Hi,
I'm a retired welder with almost 50 yrs. experience in the trade. I've gone from paper sketches to prints to AutoCad design and welding inspection and QC. Iv'e worked with steel of many different types and grades, stainless of many types and grades, aluminum of many types and grades. I have never had the luxury of in house welding engineering. Through need and with help from you gentlemen, and ladies of the forum, I have made it through  procedures and qualification of some pretty exotic materials. AL6XN and 2205 duplex just for starters.

Now that I have retired and have all of this free time, and read about the shortage of experienced craftsmen, in our business, I'm left with the idea that I need to do something about it. I was talking, to a friend that is a doctor the other day, and we were discussing our training. Mine is every bit as diversified and valuable as is his. You wouldn't call me for a colonoscopy  though. I went to school for 50 years to do my job. I learned everyday, some more than others. Now I do little projects for friends and family, and the gym where I build big muscles. But these pursuits are not all that fulfilling. I get bored, you know what I mean?

I tried the volunteer thing at the local High School, but it's a hobby class with no expertise or desire to educate. The goal there is to keep enough students so that the instructor has a job. {"If you require too much they will pick a different elective, then I will be out of a job."}

I would be open to travel a little and share what I know, or do inspection work, as an unbenefited employee. If you have any ideas about how I could use some of this free time, that I have an abundance of, please let me know.

Dennis