Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Question on Developing Weld Schedules
- By Silux Date 08-16-2014 16:51
Hello everyone. This will be my first post and already I am excited. I am relatively new to the welding world (and life after college actually) and even though I have a full year on the job as a Process Engineer for Orbital Welding, there is so many things that have eluded me and that I seek to learn about. Prior to making this post, I have looked over past Welding Journal magazines and tried to search around the forum for past postings and noticed that there aren't a lot of postings about Orbital Welding machines. Hopefully I may be able to find some guidance from someone after I make this post. :smile:

I have noticed that there is a set of guidelines that most welders use when performing groove welds on tubes (0.065" wall thickness and below) such as "1 amp per every 0.001 of a tube's wall thickness". However, most of the guidelines I see are applicable for stainless steel, specifically 316. I was wondering when it comes to orbital welding Inconel 625, 718 and Titanium (such as AMS 4943), what guidelines do you recommend or follow in order to develop a weld program/schedule? I used to go with what the following website indicates but it seems that, again, it's applicable more for Stainless Steel than for anything else.

http://www.pro-fusiononline.com/welding/applications/orbital.htm