Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Processes / ICC Structural Steel and Bolting Exam
- - By JMc (*) Date 08-26-2014 03:10
Greeting AWS Forum!

Long time lurker, almost first time poster!

I recently landed my first real CWI job and I am expected to obtain an ICC S1 certificate within the next few months. While my background is in structural steel (i was an ironworker for 10+ years) I am leery of these exams. The CWI exam was challenging for me to say the least and I wish I had researched it a little more thoroughly before sitting.

I understand the S1 exam is a two part test with the open book code portion and a plan review portion. I know that some members here have the certificate and I would greatly appreciate a little info on what to expect.

Does the code portion mainly focus on the AISC manual?
What type of plans can I expect to see? Skyscraper? Multi story?
What type of plans questions will I encounter?
How would you rate the difficulty of the exam? I've seen mixed opinions.

Thank you for your considerations!

~Josh
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 08-26-2014 03:33
Since you are an "almost first time poster" (two whole posts) I will give you an ALMOST FIRST TIME WELCOME TO THE AWS FORUM!! 

Interesting question.  As a code of ethics is involved in all aspects of the various certifications we get (ASNT, AWS, ICC, City of LA, etc, etc) I should mention one must be very careful how these types of questions are answered.  Can't get too specific.