Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Do I need an AA degree to teach welding?
- - By dschlotz (***) Date 01-15-2015 21:21
Hi guys and girls,
I started my welding career in high school in 1960. I've been working in the field for over 50 years. In 1996 I studied on my own for a year of weekends and took the test for CWI. I scored 90% on the general, 84% on the code and 84% on the practical. I have several current welding certifications and have learned to be proficient in AutoCAD LT, ProWrite nesting software for cad burning, and CEI's software for tracking welders.

I have an opportunity to give back some of my years of experience as a part time instructor at the Junior College level, but I have no AA degree. Do any of you have written president for the value of The CWI Certification, that might equate it with formal education. I really don't want to go back to school at 68, I just want to teach.

If you have a documented work around I would like to have a copy. Even in California, where I live, it might weigh heavy on their decision as to whether or not to wave the degree and accept the experience.

Thanks Dennis
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 01-15-2015 21:39
It depends on whether you are teaching in a public or private setting and where you reside.

There are many welding instructors without degrees, but usually, if the school grants a degree of any type, the instructor needs a credential. If the instructor lacks the proper credentials, the school usually requires the credential to be earned within a certain time frame.

Many private schools that offers a certificate is not usually bound by the constraints of a public institution.

Best regards - Al
Parent - By dschlotz (***) Date 01-16-2015 00:10 Edited 01-16-2015 00:16
Al,