Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Peening Metal
- - By goldybowen21 (**) Date 01-23-2015 18:00 Edited 01-23-2015 18:05
Ive been doing wps(s) for companies for about 2 years now and there's a section in there for "type of peening used" and I have never once filled it out. I was wondering what industry its normally used in.

DEFINITION OF PEENING: Peening is a cold working process in which the surface of the component is deliberately deformed, in the basic method, by hammering. During peening, the surface layer attempts to expand laterally but is prevented from doing so by the elastic nature of the sub-surface, bulk material. This results in the development of beneficial, compressive residual stresses in the surface layer, which are balanced by tensile residual stresses elsewhere
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 01-23-2015 18:05
Generally peening is associated with cast iron but there are a good number of other applications on materials and fillers that require shrinkage and/or stress control.  Hopefully some of the other guys will come along with some specific materials and job applications because I just can't come up with any at the moment.  Getting ready to fly back home and my mind isn't into this at the moment.

He Is In Control, Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - By 46.00 (****) Date 01-27-2015 16:47
Be aware that AWS D1.1/5 does place certain restrictions on the use of peening. As Brent points out, it is beneficial when welding cast iron to help reduce the build up of stresses,
- By 803056 (*****) Date 01-27-2015 17:16