Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / ASME Codes / ANSI 45.2.6 Qualifications
- - By supermoto (***) Date 02-05-2015 22:22
So I'm new to any ASME work and qualifications and have been trying to get into doing outages for Duke Energy through a contract company or getting in directly with no luck whatsoever.  I was in contact with an individual for recruiting NDE/NDT personnel for a company which has the contract to do outage work for Duke.  I was asked if I have been certified to ANSI 45.2.6 and told them I'm not familiar with the qualifications but have been a Level II in multiple methods for a few years with nuclear experience and qualified to SNT-TC-1A.  The recruiter informed me the QC manager said I needed to have a previous certification qualified to ANSI 45.2.6. 

After looking up the standard I explained to the individual in ANSI 45.2.6 it states, "personnel who perform inspection, examination, or testing in accordance with ASNT Recommended Practice No. SNT-TC-1A, since these personnel are certified in accordance with the requirements of SNT-TC-1A and its applicable supplements."  I'm sure this may have changed as I have an old copy, maybe someone can enlighten me on a newer version or if I'm incorrect by stating this.  I read a similar post on here and it sounds like I am correct by stating this.

Even after the QC manager had supposedly reviewed my qualifications and previous certifications I was told I still need to be certified to ANSI 45.2.6.  Am I incorrect or just dealing with people who don't want me or people who don't know how to interpret codes and standards?
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 02-10-2015 16:51
Remember the 10%-80%-10% rule. Unfortunately, you are dealing with the lower 10% of the population. We have a cure for illiteracy, but there ain't no cure for stupid. Unfortunately, there is a weak correlation between an advanced degree and intelligence.

Best regards - Al