Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / ASME Codes / hard facing question
- - By Mikeqc1 (****) Date 05-11-2015 19:32
All,
I have a print that requires hardfacing to ASME IX.
the hardfacing will be a min .050 thick on a round bar 2.5 thick.
How would i make a PQR im not very good at PQRs i have not had a lot of teachings on this and tomorrow i would like to try to got thru one.
Im reading the code on harfacing but would like to open some conversation about it im a little confused at how to perform this.
Parent - - By js55 (*****) Date 05-11-2015 19:57
The primary concerns for overlay qualification are running your test as cool as possible to minimize dilution while hot enough to provide adequate bonding to the substrate. This is why you see first layer concerns in the essential variables for overlays. For hardfacing the result you wish to achieve is a certain hardness level to be proven by testing.
Parent - - By Mikeqc1 (****) Date 05-11-2015 23:49
what would i use for a coupon?
Im thinking to treat it like a pipe seeing that the weld will be a circ.
So my base metal thk is 2.5?
weld deposit is .050. min.
Parent - By js55 (*****) Date 05-12-2015 12:36
Overall you can use either pipe or plate. Section IX has dimensions available for both.
In your case I would use pipe.
Parent - - By Mikeqc1 (****) Date 05-12-2015 00:00
here is what i read and would like to discuss. im mostly interested in the coupon i need, hardness specs and if the chem test is mandatory?

a PQR, As per ASME Sec IX , QW-453 following test are required for procedure qualification of hard face overlay
(3) The hard-facing surface shall be examined by the liquid penetrant method and shall meet the acceptance standards in QW-195.2 or as specified
in the WPS. Surface conditioning prior to liquid penetrant examination is permitted.