Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Technical Standards & Publications / Hello, and I am Looking for AWS A5.5 Advice
- - By Markos Date 05-15-2015 06:06
Hello everyone, this is my first post, there are many like it but this one is mine!

I am looking for some advice on SFA/AWS A5.5 as I have never used AWS before. I am checking the chemical analysis for some E8018G rods by two different manufactures ESAB and Tenacito 70 and  my chemicals are out with both manufactures by quite a bit. I have had on the rare occasion had the odd element out by a fraction but this is extreme.

I only have a copy of SFA/AWS A5.5 from 1996, and when I look for a up revved edition I cannot find one? Even on this site. Has it been superceded?

SFA/AWS A5.5 says Mn 1.00 min I have (1.21) Si 0.80 min (0.40) Ni 0.50 min (0.59) Cr 0.30 min (0.04) Mo 0.20 min (0.01) V 0.10 min (0.02) Cu 0.20 min (0.37) My actuals are in brackets, so my Si, Cr, Mo, & V are all out, this is just from the EASB rods but the Tenacito 70 are about the same? Which is why I am wondering if the spec has changed?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Mark
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 05-15-2015 06:35
Mark,

WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!

The most recent A5.5 should be the 2014 edition.  As to changes, I can't tell you until I could get my hands on mine which are in storage as we are in the process of moving.  May take a bit as my wife and son are remodeling parts of the house before we actually start moving into it.  So, we are living in the 36' 5th wheel and have all our belongings stacked in boxes in my new shop and a storage container. 

Hopefully some of the other guys will come along and be of more help. 

Why do you need to actually compare the percentages of alloys?  Usually the electrodes are accepted based upon the manufacturer's certificate of compliance to the applicable standard.