Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Need Help finding best welding schools
- - By Noel Griffith Date 06-02-2015 12:20
Hello guys i am a freelance writer and i have been asked to write an article about the top 20-30 welding schools. The problem is that from the research i have made there is no much info out there. I could only find 2-3 generally acceptable good schools like Tulsa lincoln and Hobart. Can i get a little help? Some suggestions? or even some places to continue my research? Thanks
Parent - - By Northweldor (***) Date 06-02-2015 13:13
Do a search on "Tulsa Welding School", on this forum
Parent - - By Noel Griffith Date 06-02-2015 13:43
Thanks i tried searching "best schools" an i didn't fin somthing and thought the subject wasn't covered
Parent - - By js55 (*****) Date 06-02-2015 14:39
I could be wrong but I am not sure there are that many. Union welders will school through apprenticeship programs. That leaves the market to non union welders. These schools can be pricey so the market is even further reduced.
Colleges have programs as well, but these are predominantly very basic.
This is why the company I work for has established its own welder school. The instructors are a couple of the best welders I've ever seen and have a good ability to transmit information.
Parent - By Blaster (***) Date 06-02-2015 20:38
js55 - I agree about college programs being predominately basic, but as you indicate there is variety.  For example our CC welding degree has two options, the shorter option contains 118 quarter credits of welding content (about 1,762 contact hours) and 134 credits total with the GE courses, and the longer pipe welding option contains 150 quarter credits of welding content (about 2,238 contact hours) and 166 credits total with the GE courses.