Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Question on API 1104 Burn-Through
- - By pham Date 06-30-2015 15:06
Hi everybody, I am studying the API 1104 codebook and I am confused on this part and I need your help!

9.3.7.1  A burn-through (BT) is defined as a portion of the root bead where excessive penetration has caused the weld puddle to be blown into the pipe.

9.3.7.2 For pipe with an outside diameter greater than or equal to 2.375in., a BT shall be considered a defect should any of the following conditions exist:

a. The maximum dimension exceeds 1/4 in. and the density in any portion of the BTs image exceeds that of the thinnest adjacent parent material.
b. The maximum dimension exceeds the thinner of the nominal wall thicknesses joined, and the density in any portion of the BTs image exceeds that of the thinnest adjacent parent material.
c.  The sum of the maximum dimensions of separate BTs whose image density for any portion of the BTs exceeds that of the thinnest adjacent parent material and exceeds 1/2 in. in any continuous 12 in. length of weld or the total weld length, which ever is less.

My question is what do they mean by maximum dimension? do they mean the "height"? length? width? of the burn through or do they mean the BT and the parent metal altogether??  Thank you very much :D
Parent - - By jarsanb (***) Date 07-01-2015 12:47
To help understand, I've attached a couple images. keep in mind that burn-through is not excessive penetration in API 1104. Burn through results in a depression, almost a crater, on the pipe I.D. surface. This is a result of burning through a thin root pass area while depositing the first fill pass (hot pass), and the molten metal sucks back into the pipe wall in that area. Common to downhill processes.
Attachment: Burnthrough.pdf (89k)
Attachment: Excessivepenetration.pdf (88k)
Parent - - By pham Date 07-01-2015 18:16