Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Entry level CWI pay rate in Michigan
- - By magr078 Date 08-04-2015 22:09
How can I find out the pay rate for an entry level CWI? The owner of the company I work for asked me to do some pay rate research now that I got my CWI certification so we can discuss my new salary...needless to say, I'm being very cautious because I want the most money I can get but I do not have previous experience as a CWI, I currently work as the company's welding engineer and as such I oversee the entire company's welding operation, in addition to welding machine maintenance (40 machines total!) and about 25 welder recruiting, training, record keeping and now, certification... I've been working there for 11 years and we a core Caterpillar supplier with manual and robotic welding capabilities. Any help will be much appreciated.
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 08-05-2015 12:15 Edited 08-05-2015 12:18
Interesting question.   And Welcome to the Forum

My first thought is that a "welding engineer" with 11 years seniority and experience would far out earn a freshly branded CWI.

Your value is what the market will pay for a welding engineer in your region.

These days, a lot of people would say to sell yourself by what you have proven via accomplishment.  

Let's say over the last 5 years you have done some great things in support of your client (Cat)

1.  You reduced rejects by 20% in 2014 by implementing seam tracking on your automated systems

2.  You increased arc on time from 20-29% in manual workstations last year by improving part fixturing

3.  You led 4 lean/kaisan events that changed part flow in a way that eliminated WIP in 14 shop floor locations and thereby reducing overall manufacturing cost by ($X)

4.  Your welder training has improved UT first pass yield by 5% saving 1500 hours in repair and patch work last year.