Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / ASME Codes / Pulsing-Spray Transfer ASME Section IX
- - By W3ldEngin33r Date 08-14-2015 15:30
I am 95% sure Im correct but I want to make sure I'm 100%. I have a GMAW WPS that was written to "Not Permit" pulsing on the procedure, but upon investigation I have found that we are currently running a Pulsing Gas Mixture and I feel it would be better for our welders to pulse their welds and also omit a backing. I am new to ASME so bear with me.

My question is, does changing a WPS that originally "did not permit" pulsing to allow pulsing warrant requalification per ASME section IX?

Also, I have noticed that omiting a backing is a non-essential variable. Does this mean I dont have to requalify the WPS because of this classification of variable?

Im certain if we stay within the speccified transfer mode that the pulsing will be allowed and also the removal of the backing is of no concern as well. But like I said before I need to be 100% certain.
Parent - - By In Tension (**) Date 08-14-2015 17:54
It's true that in Section IX both a change from spray to pulsed spray and the omission of backing are both non-essential variables per QW-255.  So the simple answer is that yes, from the information you've provided and with all other things being equal, you should not have to requalify.  The complex answer is that all other things are unlikely to remain equal.  Here are some things to think about if you haven't already.  Keep in mind I don't have Section IX in front of me so any or all of the following may be a figment of my imagination...
That you are using backing leads me to believe that the final weldment is to be CJP from one side only.  So with the omission of backing it's likely you'll have an open root weld.