Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Nickel Alloy PQR and WPS questions
- - By K_Mcnew (*) Date 09-01-2015 18:05
I have a job requiring us to weld UNS N06022 (Hastelloy C-22). We will be needing to use AWS A5.14 ERNiCrMo- 10 filler material. The joint design is a tube (1”OD X 1/16” wall thickness) and a threaded insert.  There will also be a 1/8” gap between the end of the tube and the shoulder of the insert for welding, also both base materials will be the same grade.  I’m still pretty new to PQR and WPS development at this point. I am having a hard time finding if any Nickel alloys fall under prequalified base metal and filler metals, or will I just have to start from sratch with developing a new PQR and moving on from there? Thank you for taking the time to rread this.

Kyle
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 09-01-2015 19:03
Can you post a pic of the assembly or a sketch?   Having a hard time visualizing that "gap"

Welcome to the forum K !

Can't speak to prequalification because you did not mention the governing standard.  But doubtful for D1.6 as it is not austenitic.
Parent - By kcd616 (***) Date 09-01-2015 21:48
Kyle,
start out slow and simple with things
filler metal goes with base metal, good start
now for some questions
welding process? gtaw gmaw saw, etc etc?
manual or robotic?
what is the tube shape? ie square, rectangle, round etc etc
1/8" gap for 1/16" thickness seems alot of gap to me:surprised::eek:
I think I have done what your describing here
but need way more info to help
sincerely,
Kent
- By 803056 (*****) Date 09-02-2015 00:02
First, what is the construction code?

From the little information provided, I assume it is ASME. If the assumption is correct, there would be no prequalified WPS when Section IX is invoked.

Al
- - By K_Mcnew (*) Date 09-02-2015 10:48 Edited 09-02-2015 10:51