Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / ASME Codes / Help with transition, please?
- - By JeffStankiewicz (*) Date 09-23-2015 14:56
Hi all,

I've been welding or managing welding operations for 27 years now. I have my CWI and CWS (US and Canada). My new position is as a QA/QC Manager for a shop that works to ASME codes (pressure vessels and boilers, OEM), section I and IX work mostly (I believe).

My "challenge" is that I've been involved in structural steel most of my life. CWB W47.1, W59 and AWS D1.1, D1.2, D1.5, D1.8, etc... have been my "bibles" up until now.

What advice can you give on making the transition from that, to ASME boiler and pressure vessel code work? Did any of you have to go through this, and what did you learn that might help me "hit the ground running" a little faster?

Any help appreciated!

God bless,
Jeff
Parent - - By CWI555 (*****) Date 09-23-2015 16:57
Jeff,

Section IX is a dependent code along with Section V. Neither builds anything, but can be (and usually are) invoked by construction codes such as Sections 1, 3, 8, etc. Piping B31 series .1, .3, .8 etc. Then there are some API standards and others as well.

Structure of the code is different from AWS significantly. I would advise getting familiar with the structure and not get buried in the bug dust at first. It would be wise to assess your new employers past business, quality manuals, and any former, current, or planned ASME stamp activities.

Most importantly remember this. ASME Always. Sometimes. Maybe. Everytime. That may seem like a joke until you get into the particulars of the code.
Parent - - By JeffStankiewicz (*) Date 09-23-2015 17:31
Thanks, I was afraid of that! lol
Parent - - By 46.00 (****) Date 09-23-2015 19:54
I would take on CWI555 thoughts of ASME, read them books and learn your way round them! They are way different than AWS! ASME-Always, Sometimes, Maybe, Everytime.