Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Military to Civilian Certification
- - By HessellT01 Date 10-19-2015 01:50
Hello,

I am currently a welder in the military and am new to the forum and interested in getting information on a Civilian Welding Certification. I am not very educated on the topic and am open to all information. Are there several different types of Welding Certifications? Is it possible to transfer over to a Civilian Welding Certification easily? Again, I am uneducated on this process and curious if anyone has any information to help me out, such as the actually step process on what I should plan to do for my future? Any information would be great!

Thank you,

Tom
Parent - - By Kix (****) Date 10-20-2015 11:48
First off, let me thank you for your services and 2nd, I'll take a stab at a couple of your questions.

Are there several different types of Welding Certifications? Yes, there are many different types of certifications. To be quick and to the point, there are codes and specifications you work to in the civilian world and there are qualification/"certifications" tests to those codes and specifications. Different companies in the civilian world work to different codes and specifications. Some companies work to multiple and others, only one if any.

Is it possible to transfer over to a Civilian Welding Certification easily? Yes, for the most part. The welding tests you had to take in the military will be very similar if not exactly what you will have to take in the civilian world. Most of the military codes and specifications were derived around the commercial/"civilian" code specifications and the qualification tests/"certification tests" are pretty much the same.