Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / starting all new.
- - By gustafson Date 11-04-2015 20:04
I'm NEW to all this. I have the opportunity to go to school/training to be taught or shown the correct way to weld. I have minimal experience in this with a basic weld class completed. I decided to pick the school in Neveda, Missouri because the school is reasonably closer/ shorter. I am wanting to work on the pipe line mainly, or do some traveling welding. any and all insight will be appreciated.
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 11-04-2015 23:09
gustafson,

WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!

Interesting location choice.  Didn't realize there was anything over there. 

There are probably many schools of higher quality and more respected end results. 

BUT, having said that, it is mostly the student.  You can learn the basics most anywhere and from there it is largely practice, practice, practice.  Sure, the better the program and the better the instructors the more and faster you will learn.  But, if there are other limitations that make it prudent to remain in the area then anything is USUALLY better than nothing.

I'm sure some of our instructor members will chime in here and offer better advice.

He Is In Control, Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By Stringer (***) Date 11-05-2015 02:03
gustafson, welcome to the forum! If I may suggest anything, it's the search engine. You can find out so much really usable knowledge in there it should cost money. I've substantially increased my income using this forum and you should, too!
Parent - - By gustafson Date 11-11-2015 14:26
What about certificates, some kind of qualified training? Is there any advice that I should have, not sure what everybody's looking for.
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 11-11-2015 14:55
They are looking for skill, completed appearance, and experience.