Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Repair WPS and PQR
- - By tmlieberman Date 11-19-2015 13:45
I am working on a pipeline project and the Owner told us to bring our own procedures.  Typically the company which we do work for always provides the procedures and specifications for welding.  I provided the WPS to get the production welds made.  The Owner now wants a Repair WPS written to the "latest" edition of API 1104.  As a result the chief inspector is telling us we need a repair WPS written to the 21st edition of API 1104. 

I'm stumped.  For one we have yet to have a customer adopt the 21st edition and second, our customers usually just add repair guidelines in their specifications. 

Can anyone help?  I have the resources to qualify a procedure.  The problem is I have no experience with repair procedures.

Thank you
Parent - By welderbrent (*****) Date 11-23-2015 22:48
tm,

WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!

I had not responded because API 1104 is not really my specialty and I don't often have my copy handy.  Hard to carry everything in the library with me onto a job site I have to walk 1/4 mile to get to the inspections office from the parking lot.  Excuses, excuses...I probably should in order to get into better shape for my upcoming elk hunt.

Anyway,  let's look at some of this in this manner:

Normally, I would like to see every sub-contractor on the job provide their own.  That way I know they know what they are doing and how they expect to accomplish the work.  See, if the contractor up the line provides it, they may not have that process available or just try to do it their own way anyway because 'that is how they have always done it'.