Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / CJP Groove Butt-Weld in Pipe
- - By Lucas Date 11-19-2015 13:51
I am trying to find something in the D1.1 that pertains to butt welding pipe. I have a 30'' OD pipe that we are joining end to end with a single bevel groove weld. We have an 1/8'' root gap with a ceramic backer around the inside of the pipe. Is there any chance this is a prequalified joint? I am a mechanical engineer who just received a CWI. Still very green and have very little knowledge on welding.
Parent - By In Tension (**) Date 11-19-2015 17:09
AWS D1.1 3.13.2.1, 2015
Welding procedures for joints welded with backing other than steel in which the weld is to be left in the as-welded condition without backgouging and welding from the other side are not prequalified.
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 11-19-2015 22:27
Lucas,

WELCOME TO THE AWS WELDING FORUM!!

Since you are on a 30" OD pipe you should have access to the inside, I have crawled as small as 18" and we regularly did 22".  As such, if your WPS specifies removal of ceramic backing after welding from the outside and weld back weld from the inside then YES, it would be prequalified.  If not removing the ceramic backing, then you must use steel or do a PQR prior to establishing your WPS. 

He Is In Control, Have a Great Day,  Brent
Parent - - By Lucas Date 11-20-2015 17:45
We do crawl in and remove the ceramic backing. We currently don't have a WPS I am putting one together. We have a drawing showing the fit up and weld. So since we wont be putting a back weld in just a CJP from the top and then removing the ceramic it wont ever be qualified? We are doing a visual on it and then I think we are doing a dye pen on it and maybe mag. If it passes all of those would if be qualified? Also, I am struggling with the book to find out how much undercut is allowed.

Thanks