Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Need help asap regarding a job I am currently working on....
- - By DavidMcNeely91 Date 01-11-2016 01:22
Hello,
     My name is David McNeely,
I am a certified welder that works for a company that specializes in recreational architecture.
I am currently working on a job that requires intentive precision and have came across a process which has raised concern with me.

Allow me to explain;
The part I am fabricating calls for a 1” thick (8”×8”) base plate to sit flush with a 3/16” wall thickness (8”×8”) tube.
When told by other fabricators that we plasma cut a bevel into the base plate and smooth out by hand grinding leaving tabs to maintain the overall length of the part being assembled.
I found that the bevel is deeper then the thickness of the wall of the tube.
Thus creating a void between baseplate and tube of anywhere between 1/16” – 1/8”.
When I questioned it with other fabricators they simply stated that that’s how they have always done it, so next I went and had a talk with our engineering/architectural coordinators and they couldn’t give me a answer except that it was not their job to understand the welding processes that, that responsibility is of the certified welders/fabricators.

My gut instinct tells me that if the 1” baseplate is to sit flush with the end of the tube with a 3/16” wall thickness the bevel should be no more than 3/16” depth and a angle of 45° to allow proper fusion from one plate to another. (The way they go about prepping the plates the bevel they plasma cut and smooth out the depth of the bevel is anywhere between 1/4" - 1/2" and a angle of anywhere between 35° - 65°, leaving a tab on each corner)
When I stated this to my fellow co-workers they said that it didn’t matter because we are welding inside of the tube as well as on the outside.
Which brought forth another concern for me,