Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Minimum Qualification
- - By satya123 Date 06-07-2016 15:21
Can Any one tell explain my doubt,

I have completed diploma in mechanical engineering, later I placed in Campus. Now I have four years experience in HVAC and Firefighting field.

Am I eligible to do CWI course??? Because I have done diploma after 10th only. only 10+3 and experience.

Thank You all.
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 06-08-2016 02:39
Anyone can attend the CWI seminar offered by AWS. However, if one would like to become a CWI, one must have the necessary relevant experience in welding. The relevant experience could include designing welds, fabricating (layout, welding, etc.), erection, inspection etc. If the experience has nothing to do with welding, i.e., inspecting glass bottles, it is not relevant and will not be considered relevant.

Best regards - Al
Parent - By satya123 Date 06-09-2016 08:47
Thank you
Parent - - By welderbrent (*****) Date 06-08-2016 04:27
As Al pointed out, some experience is relevant and some is not (kinda like MT indications). 

In the field of HVAC, one could have welding experience or not even close.  And Firefighting?  Are you installing sprinkler systems or wearing a uniform and pulling hoses?  One would be relevant, the other not.

Brent
Parent - - By satya123 Date 06-09-2016 08:45
Thank u,
I am installing sprinkler and stand pipe system, I have familiar with welding as we have to install pump room and main headers where we only find big welding from Pump room to main headers , risers after that it is only small diameter pipes for sprinkler branches.

We use GI pipes heavy grade -C.

Thank you once again.

Regards,
Satya
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 06-10-2016 00:58