Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Not in the industry, need advice in regards to 798.
- - By SuperdutyDAN Date 06-14-2016 16:13
Hello all, I was hoping that I could get some solid advice from this forum. Let me start out by thanking you all for taking the time to read this and any advice offered.

I'm a 34 year old male living in Cincinnati, Ohio. I was an electrician for about 10 years and have since switched gears into an office job at an RV dealership. I'm at the point where I miss working on a job but need financial security. I have talked with a few guys who pipeline that pass through my dealership, and I have to be honest it sounds amazing.

I have a young family I am supporting and I'm just trying to gather as much information as I can, so that I don't make a huge mistake by being uninformed. If anyone can touch base on the work home aspect that would also be very helpful.

So that leads me to thinking about trying to make the switch. I have so many questions I don't know where to start. I'll list some below, so if I get rambling please bear with me.

I have always felt like learning things from the ground up is the best practice, Is there a helper or apprentice role I could get hired for ?

What could I expect my pay to be like if so ?

How much work Could I realistically expect to get in that position ?

Is it year round work ?

Can you judge how the future of pipelining will be ?

Am I to old to be a helper or apprentice ?

How would I progress to a higher level ?

I'm sure that I will have more questions, but thank you for letting me ask these for now.

Dan.
Parent - By BABRTs973 (*) Date 06-16-2016 17:54
Start here
https://www.local798.org/