Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Need opinion on weld bead
- - By machschnell Date 04-22-2003 23:12
Need an opinion on my weld bead. I'm a novice at this, but I've done some reading, and now I'm ready to practice this stuff. This is after a couple hours with my $100 Chicago Electric dual-Mig welder, using .030" flux core wire. I'm practicing welding 1/8" steel plate together, using full power, medium wire speed. Judging by the bead, is there anything I can improve?

http://www.angelfire.com/pa4/machschnell/images/weld_closeup.jpg

Thanks,
PJ
Parent - By bzzzzzzzzzz (**) Date 04-22-2003 23:37
Is it a 75 amp machine? If it is you will find it hard to generate a good weld puddle on anything but thin sheet. I had a 75 amp and it was nice for sheet metal, but unpredictable on anything much more than 1/16". If you are real careful about it you can lay multiple beads down for added strength. However, it's tough to put those narrow beads down exactly overlapping each other. I looks amost as though the puddle was just not flowing very well from the jpeg. I'm sure some of the more experienced will provide some answers to this post.
Parent - By welder_guy2001 (***) Date 04-23-2003 02:37
keep a steady hand and watch where you're going. center the wire right where the 2 pieces meet. slow and steady is the key to self-shielded flux core.
Parent - By billvanderhoof (****) Date 04-23-2003 04:01
It's a little bumpy on top but that's a trivial complaint and will fix itself with practice.
The top edge looks like you might be burying a little slag, break it apart to get the real story. If it breaks in the weld bead you've done fine. If it breaks down one edge (often in some foamy looking stuff) you need to get more heat on that surface to improve fusion there.
Bill
Parent - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 04-23-2003 10:30