Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Welder Qualified to D1.1 but being used to D1.3 also.
- - By jv9 Date 07-25-2016 15:48
At my current employer I am having trouble with the welding engineer wanting to qualify guys to D1.1 and using them to weld to D1.3 also. The material thickness is well below the 1/8" requirement within D1.1 but he is saying as the weld engineer he has the ability to deviate from code. I know there are sections that do give the engineer some abilities to deviate but has anyone accepted this?

I do not agree what so ever with his deviations as a certified inspector. Am I being hard headed here and does the engineer have the ability to deviate this much? Our welding engineer owns the welding program where I work, I just inspect the welds but I do run everything he does by the code requirements. As an inspector I just cant seem to wrap my hands around why he wants to deviate from the code, other than pure laziness. I forgot to mention he is trying to add this to his program to save him qualification tests.

Thanks.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 07-25-2016 17:33
If he is the one who is signing off on this...let him have his way. You don't have to agree with it, you have voiced your opinion and he wants to continue on, so let him have at it. The customer will be the one who will eventually catch up with what is going on and may ask for the qualifications to D1.3 to be redone.

As a previous QC manager at a fab shop, I occasionally ran up on similar issues like this and if I wanted to continue my employment there, I had to fall in and go with it. Auditors eventually made us issue corrective actions to remedy the problem, and I got to sit in my office and say.. to myself... I told you so...LOL

When the shop has to spend money to fix things, it may get their attention. Some battles are not worth fighting, pick them wisely.