Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Undecided
- - By amalgam (*) Date 04-29-2003 00:00
Hi there you guys,
I am ready to buy a MIG welder. Reading a lot it looks like the best way to go is a Lincoln Electric 175. Now there are two models SP175 and SP175+. The only two differences according to LE are:
1) SP175 has a Tap type of control and the SP175+has a Continuous Control
2) SP175 Output Range is 30-175A DC, and SP175+ Output Range is 25-175A DC
Being new in welding, to me this information looks written in Chinese. Since there is a difference in price can you guys please explain to me what that means, and if any of you have any experience in one or the other can you please pass it along?
Thank you
Alfredo
Parent - - By bzzzzzzzzzz (**) Date 04-29-2003 04:04
I am somewhat new to welding and bought a millermatic 172 used. This machine was not supposed to be quite as good on very thin sheet. I would say that assessment was correct. Everything I've read about the Lincoln version of small 220 volt migs has been positive. Supposedly the low amp arc goes lower than the millermatic, and also is very smooth and stable. If I had the cash for a new one at the time I would have probably gone the Lincoln 175 route. As for tapped vs. varialble volt control. Most of what I hear says it really doesn't matter that much. You can adjust more with stickout/wire feed anyway.
Parent - - By Dirtrider (**) Date 04-29-2003 14:06