Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic AWS.org / Forum News & Help / Weld defects
- - By mmkmtech Date 04-12-2017 07:06
I am researching weld defect classification on digital weld radiography image. I need suggestions from experts regarding weld defects. At present, I am studying about weld porosity. So, I need some clarifications.
What are the significant differences between porosity and gas pore in weld defects? Please suggest me.
Thank you
Parent - - By 803056 (*****) Date 04-12-2017 14:37 Edited 04-12-2017 14:39
Both are the result of the difference in the solubility of gas in liquid versus a solid.

Generally, the solubility of gases such as carbon dioxide, nitrogen, or hydrogen, is much higher in a liquid than in a solid. While in the liquid state the gas is in solution, but as the liquid cools and starts to solidify the gas comes out of solution and attempts to escape into the surrounding environment (air). Any gas that fails to escape before solidification is complete manifests itself as a bubble of gas entrapped in the solid. The shape of the bubble is dependent on the volume and rate of solidification.

In welding the presence of porosity can be seen visually when the gas bubble breaks the surface of the solidifying metal. Since the metal is not pure, it solidifies over a temperature range where multiple states exists, i.e., there is a mixture of both solid and liquids, known as the mushy state. The bubble can leave a "hole" that is either spherical or elongated in the mushy multiphase region.

Often the porosity is located in the last region to solidify, i.e. the centerline of the weld, resulting in aligned porosity along or near the centerline of the weld.