Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / D1.5 3G and 4G qualification
- - By Devin101829 Date 09-19-2017 13:47 Edited 09-19-2017 13:49
Hello everyone! I am currently a student and Mitchell Technical Institute perusing my associates degree in Welding and Manufacturing Technology. One of my courses is Advanced Welding Lab, and i was wondering if you experienced guys out there could give me some tips on my next assignment. We have a 3G and 4G qualification test in accordance to D1.5 (Which i believe is bridge code) since we are not on this assignment yet, i do not know the complete details. But, i do know its on 1 inch plate, without backing, using the process SMAW, and using 6010 and 7018 filler rod running on a Lincoln 350. Any advice on the root pass would be great, i have never done a root pass without backing.

Thank you!
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 09-19-2017 14:33
Well, first off, none of the standard AWS welder qualification tests required by the structural welding codes are without backing. Next, 6010 is not an electrode permitted by AWS D1.5. Low hydrogen electrodes or low hydrogen welding processes must be used for all the approved steels under the auspices of D1.5 and for the performance qualification tests.

It makes little sense to require the welder to take an open root test with E6010 for the root pass since the E6010 is not permitted and it does not qualify the welder for welding with low hydrogen electrodes. E6010 and E7018 have different F numbers and the F number is an essential variable in the structural welding code.