Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / Welding
- - By Daniel McConnel Date 01-01-2018 16:25
I am a beginner
My question. Mig welder flux core / plasma cutter combo. Is there one and what is the best for personal use?
Parent - - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 01-02-2018 10:37
Most of the "Combo" machines that include a plasma cutter are imports from various manufacturers and distributors overseas.

I for instance have a Longevity Stick/Tig/Plasma that is about 9 years old and still welds (at a reduced output) and also will no operate in plasma mode. But I paid around $500.00 for it and it has long since paid for itself but is pretty much useless for anything but lower amperage welding.

Had I bought a conventional transformer/rectifier that was just for stick welding, it would still be welding today at full capacity and would probably continue to do so for many years to come.

I recently purchased a CC/CV (Stick, DC Tig, or wire fed process) ESAB machine and its been great.

Gerald
Parent - By Offingapp Date 04-18-2018 09:37
Thanx for useful info
Parent - - By mariagarcia (*) Date 05-21-2019 11:17
Flux-cored welding does not require a shielding gas. Instead, flux-cored wire is used to shield the arc from contamination.
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 05-21-2019 11:38
Parent - By 803056 (*****) Date 05-21-2019 11:39
Only if the electrode is selected from the self shielded family. If not, a supplementary shielding gas is required.

Al
- By StefanLuoma Date 08-08-2019 12:35
thank. Useful information
- - By Jrkwelder86 Date 08-30-2019 15:54