Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Another post about Welder Continuity & Qualifications
- - By SeeJeepGo (*) Date 02-15-2018 19:54
I've read a bunch of posts regarding welder continuity, welder log books, 6 month expiration of quals, etc etc.... I know the code is vague and non specific in many areas of this topic so id like some real world feedback. As a recently appointed CWI working at the same company i've been welding at for over 6 years I am now doing more paperwork than metalwork.
Here's the basics: Before me, and before the person that was before me, the company initiated a system to get welders qualified and have WPS' on file for the regular work they performed. All good but not closely maintained or updated because back then they prob didnt feel they needed to. Within the last few years they decided to improve the existing system to be more up to date and accurate with record keeping etc to comply with newer contacts and requests from certain clients. So now there's a better plan in place for new hires and procedures etc. Not every job requires code compliance, but they want to be ready for the ones that do.