Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Welding Inspection Maximum Reinforcement
- - By DannyAgudelo (*) Date 04-06-2018 02:29
Hello,
im a welder trying to gain some more technical expertise. I've been studying code parameter and so on and recently came across to a table that explains the maximum reinforcement allowed on a weld. The table includes some values. My question is the maximum reinforcement allowed seems to change depending on the "design temperature". Whats is this design temperature? Is it the temperature the weld is going to be exposed to?
This can be found on this pdf https://www.aws.org/library/doclib/cwi-partB-BOS-customary20170418.pdf on page 14, table 5.
Thank you
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 04-06-2018 11:29
Hi Danny.

The table you are viewing is taken from the AWS "Book of Specifications" used for the CWI exam.

This is not an actual working specification.  It is a simulated code/specification and the section you are viewing is dedicated to pressure piping.

The book of specifications (BOS) has several different codes within it... (Structural, Piping, Pressure vessels) and they are to be used with mock-up weld samples and mock-up welding procedures and PQRs by test takers to prove they can navigate numerous codes that have differing acceptance criteria.

The table you are viewing in essence is not a real table... However it might closely resemble API 1104  piping specification.

As to your question about design temperature... I think you are probably right to assume that the temperatures they are noting are what the weldment would see in-service.
- - By 803056 (*****) Date 04-07-2018 03:32