Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / New to TIG... Some newbie questions
- - By evelbmx (*) Date 06-01-2003 09:28
Hello everyone, I am a highschool student and I have become very interested in welding. I would like to weld myself a bicycle frame one day. I have been researching online, and I have read about a couple books that are a deffinate buy. I was consider some videos, do they actually help? Can anyone recommend any? If I want to learn to weld 4130 chromoly, I need to learn TIG. I am looking for a good beginner TIG welder, could anyone point me in the right direction? (remember, I am a highschool student, and that means im poor!) Since I want to weld a bicycle frame, I will really be working with thin tubing most of the time (.045/.035) so I could learn with a cheap welder couldnt I? I have been looking for some classes in my area, but apparently I am not old enough yet for them. So I figured I would just get myself a welder and play with some scrap metal for awhile. I have a neighbor who works at a welding shop with his brother, and I am going to head over there in the next couple days and see what I can learn. If anyone can help me in anyone, with places to find a welder or were to get more information on beginning TIG it would be great.
Parent - By welder_guy2001 (***) Date 06-02-2003 03:37