Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Spliced HSS Column
- - By LToca85 (**) Date 08-15-2018 23:11
Hello, I am fairly new to D1.1 and I have come across an HSS Column that was cut 5/8" to short and the "solution" is to weld a splice to the column. I am wondering if this is allowed per the code or not? any help is appreciated.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 08-16-2018 11:42
Hi LToca85,
Stuff happens. Whenever the saw made a mistake like this I would get them to splice a foot onto it (usually there was drop in the scrap bin that would work), UT the joint to verify soundness, then cut it to the correct length and fit/weld the rest of the column as normal.

One word of caution, sometimes the EOR has a preferred end(top or bottom) that he/she wants to see the splice added onto, so you may want to ask first before they waste time with layout and fitting the rest of the column.

Another solution is to add a 5/8" thicker base plate, but then you have to make sure there will be enough anchor rod sticking through at that grid location to engage a full nut.
Parent - - By LToca85 (**) Date 08-16-2018 12:03
Thank you very much, would you know if i would be able to find that in clause 5 or 9 or would it be somewhere else. (By the way I've been coming here for help lately and you seem to be very helpful thank you)
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 08-16-2018 12:27
LToca85,
I don't remember seeing anything in AWS D1.1 in Clause 5 or 9 regarding this. Clause 5.19 is a new clause regarding splices, but I'm not sure that it applies to your situation.

I'm just thankful to this forum for being here to answer my MANY questions when I was a new CWI. Many of the faithful members here helped me get along over the years, so I'm happy to give a little back where I can.
Parent - - By LToca85 (**) Date 08-16-2018 12:52
Okay thank you I will keep looking.