Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Wrap Ends, Longer Fillet Weld or All Around Symbol and Note?
- - By AMurphy Date 08-23-2018 14:21 Edited 08-23-2018 14:25
First off- I am an engineer, not a welder, but please don't hate me because I'd like to try to make the weld callouts in my drawings both make sense and be what we need. If you're still willing to help me, thank you!

I was discussing a weld callout for a coped I beam weldment with two other engineers. There's a center I beam and two others mirrored over it to make a +. These beams are placed on a flat plate and then welded to each other and the plate. We had a weld callout for all around, but that doesn't make sense because the bottom of the coped joint can't be welded because it's already sitting on the plate. But if we don't use the all around symbol it means a lot of arrows pointing everywhere but the bottom. My other thought was to make the length of the fillet weld equal to the length of the web and the flange (1/2 flange length x 2), with one arrow pointing to the web and making the callout for both sides, with an arrow pointing to each of the mirrored I beam joints. I do have an image if I can figure out how to upload it...
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 08-23-2018 17:05
Hi AMurphy,
What I've seen  for 35 years now is for the detailer to show the weld symbols for one of the welded joints and then put "Typ" in the tails of those weld symbols. I was also a structural detailer for several of those 35 years. Hope that helps unclutter your weld detail.
Parent - - By AMurphy Date 08-23-2018 18:32