Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Prequalified pipe to pipe
- - By TxMike Date 10-05-2018 15:49
Hello, I'm new to this, having just gotten my CWI. I was contacted by a guy that needs qualified to weld 42in X52 grade 350 wall .375" thickness pipe to pipe with E6010 open root and E7018 fill and cap.
His company does not have a WPS to test to and he says the pipe is for structural use.

Does D1.1 have a prequalified WPS for this?

Does a plate test cover this since it would qualify him for greater than 24 inch pipe?

As far as I can tell, D1.1 only has prequalified WPS for backing and back gouging.
Thanks
Parent - - By Steelslinger (**) Date 10-05-2018 17:52 Edited 10-05-2018 17:58
Well, with no WPS to follow, there is nothing to test him with.

X52 Grade 350, I don't see that on the AWS Base Metal Grouping list. I do see several 5L Grade X52 variants. So if one of them lines up to be what the guy is talking about, depending on the situation (actual code being welded to, process, wire, etc), a Prequalified PQR/WPS can be written (again, if D1.1 is the code being used). With it being Open Root, it would not be Prequalified. Sounds like they want to weld it like API 1104, and frankly not sure what structural use a 42" pipe would be, there are possibilities I guess.

Really, the company should be taking care of all of this, setting up the PQR/WPS, getting the guy qualified.

Personally, I would not be performing any inspection based services without getting properly set up with business licenses, Quality manuals & procedures, insurances etc. Plus a lengthy well designed contract that clearly defines my responsibilities and liabilities. And this is not something I would tackle right out of the gate of getting my CWI.
Parent - By TxMike Date 10-05-2018 19:13