Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Newbie learning basics about MIG welding
- - By Jmar Date 06-14-2003 11:22
I bought a book entitled "The Welder's Handbook". It doesn't really say much about technique. The machine I'm using is borrowed from a friends auto shop (Silver Beauty) so I can decide if I would like to purchase one later. It does not have any instructions so I went to a supplier and purchased 57/25 gas and some solid copper plated steel wire to begin. My book states that copper pated steel contaminates that weld and therefore weakens it. Does non plated steel wire exist?

I started practicing last night on square steel tubing and cut my welds into cross sections to study them. Do books exist that would show a proper weld in cross section?

Parent - By dee (***) Date 06-15-2003 14:21
J
First, the issue of technique is too complex for my descriptive ability, but to help a bit, consider the molten weld puddle as a thermal insulator; the farther back in the puddle the less heat is transferred from the arc to the metal... this, and what is called "stick-out" (distance from contact tip- not nozzle- to workpiece) are phenomenon which can be used to modify fixed power supply parameters (eg: if you're burning through thin stock, increase stick-out a bit and/or lay back into the puddle)

Second, I believe you're using a gas mix of 75% Ar, 25% CO2... there was a typo? No big E...