Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding video
- - By nivram Date 06-23-2003 04:41
Can anyone suggest a good MIG welding "How-TO" video? I'm just getting started and aren't aware of any local classes that I would be able to take. I know how to operate my machine and such but would like to learn what a good weld looks like, technique, etc...

Thanks for your help.

Marvin

Parent - By kekoakeakane (*) Date 06-24-2003 08:16
Eastwood Company sells a video produced by The Welding Institute in England which is quite informative on the do's and don'ts.
Parent - - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 06-27-2003 07:16
If you have access to the internet you can look forever and not know for sure which one video is right for you.
Cost of video and availabilty is also important to consider.
Before I give you any recommendations, You should definitely search on the internet for the website: www.weldreality.com .
Ed Craig has one of the most comprehensive websites for learning everything you need to know about "MIG" or otherwise known as GMA Welding. The website even sells books and videos regarding this process, and they are excellent! This is probably your best source to gain a comprehensive understanding of GMAW (MIG).

However, if you do'nt want to spend too much time and effort required to learn both the theoretical, and the practical aspects of GMAW then, there is a video available from a company out in Bonners Ferry, Idaho called: Wall Mountain Company.
The website adress is: www.weldingvideos.com , and this video is relatively inexpensive compared to weldreality's pricing.
The title of the video is: "GMAW Wire Feed Welding".