Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / NDT method most commonly used
- - By devinw02 Date 10-22-2019 17:27
Hello and good afternoon everyone, my names Devin and I am a student at a Technical Institute located in South Dakota. We are using the AWS D1.1 2015 code book in my code book class. My question is, what NDT method is mostly commonly used and mostly recommended out of UT, RT, and Dye Penetrant in the manufacturing community?
Parent - - By WeldinFool (**) Date 10-22-2019 18:35
I'm sure you will get some much better and more detailed replies to this question; the short answer is (in my humble opinion) that there is no "most commonly or mostly recommended" form of NDT. It all depends on what type of materials you are working with, what type of discontinuities you are looking for, cost and availability can be a factor...the list goes on and on.
In my industry (manufacturing and installing ski lifts), we use MT more than anything else, followed by UT.
Parent - - By devinw02 Date 10-23-2019 17:10
Thank you for your response. You said that the company you work for uses MT before UT. Why not use UT for all of it instead of using both?
Parent - - By WeldinFool (**) Date 10-23-2019 18:40
Again, it depends on what discontinuities you are looking for. MT will detect surface (and some sub-surface) cracks in finished welds, which is what we use it for. But it won't show you anything past a couple of mm deep. Now UT, on the other hand, will detect discontinuities through the entire thickness of the material, but probably wouldn't pick up the surface cracks (at least not to where you would know what you were seeing).
Different NDT methods for different applications; there is no "one size fits all".
Parent - By devinw02 Date 10-24-2019 14:16
Thank you
Parent - - By Steelslinger (**) Date 10-22-2019 19:48