Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / What metal to use for a motorcycle stand
- - By Carbon_Unit Date 07-15-2003 03:26
Hello All,

I'm a newbie here.

I am designing a service stand for my motorcycle and I was wondering if 1 inch square tubing would be strong enough for this application? The bike only weighs about 320lbs.

The idea is to build a truss/frame of some sort as one big lever to lift the bike's rear tire off of the ground.

I've got a pretty good idea as to the design, I just need some expert advice on what kind of iron to use.

Thanks a lot,

--Carbon
Parent - - By DavidP66 (*) Date 07-15-2003 15:30
Im trying to vision this apparatus...you could go up too 1 1/2-2 inch square stock. Use Mild Steel A36 with 7018 filler metal if you using stick. I would think that 1 inch square would be too small unless you had a lot of stiffners. Plus that small of tube usually has a thin wall and may be tough to weld up with out blowing through it.

just my 2CENTS

David
Parent - - By DGXL (***) Date 07-15-2003 16:21
Carbon:
I've made several bike stands with 1 X 1 tubing. My first was with 0.035" wall tubing. It was kind of squirly for my old TT500, but it worked.

Made another using 1 X 1 X 0.065" for another bike (XR600) and it worked much better without all the flexure, particularly in the handle.

Made a saddle for my floor jack to lift my old Ninja 1000R. NICE.

All the above were GTAW. Minimal stiffners are required depending how it is designed.

Good luck and stay upright.

*Dave, the intent is to keep the weight down.
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 07-15-2003 17:26
I've used a saddle on a floor jack too and I thought it worked fine.
I've seen the lift/levers made from round tubing too, but it might be harder to fit up and weld than square tubing with four flat sides.
John Wright
Parent - - By Carbon_Unit Date 07-16-2003 03:06
Hello Again,