Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / My first question(s)
- - By CHEVYTOWN13 (**) Date 07-19-2003 18:18
Like some here, I have turned to welding to hopefully make a livelyhood out of it in the world of art. I have been making these small chairs (13" tall) for many years and am ready to make them lifesize.

I will be fabricating the chairs made out of manderal bent tubing with an OD no larger than 2 1/2" that will resemble the prototypes made out of the tomato wire. I bought a mig welder and understanding it is for stainless steel, aluminum, steel. Those materials are what I want to build these chairs out of. But I understand from reading a TON lately that there are MANY different types of aluminum, and steels...the same with fillers.

For starters, what kind of steel would be good to use for these projects? I'm thinking like exhaust tubing(I'd like to do my own exhaust one day too, can't wait for that). I want to start off with steel, becuase I have read aluminum is very difficult to do. Once I get the nack, then I'll be ready for aluminum. I haven't researched stainless steel yet, but I'm sure that's just as tough.

The only problem I see is that there are such crazy bends for these chairs that I will have to build these chairs with many welds. I assume that grinding is the only way to get it as smooth as possible. I'm looking for a fine finish. I know it will be difficult because I am new at welding, so I definitely sense troubles ahead and by no means am I saying I can make it look seamless(sp) or even close to that. I'll have to decide how to finish them once I know what I'm doing.

I'll be looking for a school soon, but I wanted to get a head start so I have a good feel when I walk past them doors.

Muchas gracias.

Ricardo
Parent - - By flatjwl (*) Date 07-20-2003 02:43