Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / white metal
- - By Stickman Date 07-28-2003 05:04
Hi ya all,
I'm fairly new to welding and at this time my experience, although limited, is with stick welding, using a Miller Thunderbolt XL AC/DC and some very limited ocyacet. (sp) welding.
A friend of mines boy broke the kick stand on his bike and it appears to be made of white metal and I was hoping that someone could give some suggestions in welding it.....if in fact, you can weld white metal...
any help would certainly be appreciated,
Stickman
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 07-28-2003 11:49
Is the material you are questioning about look porous on the inside? Does it have a casting or parting line on the outside?
John Wright
Parent - - By supermechanic (**) Date 07-28-2003 13:45
Kick stand replacement is a better idea. most bike shops will have a replacement unit. far cheaper to replace than to repair on an item such as this, where the quality of the base metal is in question.
My kids have had plenty of bikes, I've fixed a few frames where the brazing broke, but I've never seen a stand break, hence my idea that the metal is of an inferior quality.
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 07-28-2003 14:05
I agree with the replacement value, but was attemping to try and answer the question. Type and quality of materials will probably still be in question.
John Wright
Parent - - By Stickman Date 07-28-2003 15:15
appreciate all your replys, and in reply to the wisdom of replacing the kick stand, I agree; this was more of a ''can it be done & if so, how?'' question since I'm pretty new at all this welding stuff.
As far as the material, I don't have it here to look at but the break appeared to be grayish-white and semi-porous in makeup....that is why I thought it to be 'white metal'..
thanks again for the replys,
Stickman
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 07-28-2003 15:25