Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / pipe distortion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- - By sprinklerwelder (*) Date 07-28-2003 21:11
i would still like to here from anybody on this subject. in the shop we have a set of chaih clamps that we use.the chains lock around the pipe and by tightening a piece af allthread attached to a piece of angle opposite your weld o let . these do a fair job. i`ve clamped them and still had the pipe warp like a bannana.this distortion causes alot of water to be trapped in a fire sprinkler system(this is somthing that really pisses my fitters in the field off).also its not good craftmanship and can cause alot of problems.90% of the time we use sch. 10 pipe mild steel.any suggestions would be appreciated.im an apprentice welding for around 50 other fitters and apprentices who have no ideas about welding.i would like to rid myself of this distortion problem.
Parent - By CHGuilford (****) Date 07-28-2003 22:03
If your welding is mostly on one side of the pipe,you could try back bowing the pipe in the direction opposite from the way it tends to warp. A little experimentation should get you pretty close to straight.

My second thought is to use heat straightening after welding if your back bow wasn't enough. Make sure heating your pipe to dull red (around 1100 - 1200 degrees F) won't violate code restrictions first. If it's OK then heat spots on the side of the pipe where you need to cause the metal to shrink to bring everything straight. Start out small and conservatively until you get the hang of it because it's easy to go too far.
It might help to picture where you might like to saw cut a small vee out of the pipe to be able to bend it where you want. That's where you should put the heat spot. Generally, it doesn't work to heat the same spot twice.