Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / AWS Learning & Education / Welding Schools
- - By Mustang flames Date 08-11-2003 03:50
Hi everyone I'm interested in learning how to weld, and would like to take a welding course. My question is sents I have no prior experience with welding will most teachers have patience for students. I just hate taking crash and burn courses and boom your out the door. It just seems like to me learning to weld should take tons of hours practicing. I just want to get my feet wet with welding and see how it goes from there. if anyone has any advise for me or tips I would be happy to hear from you.
Parent - By MBlaha (***) Date 08-11-2003 19:25
The first place to look is your own technical colleges.
Lincoln has a school in Cleveland.
Hobart has a school.
Miller has a school.
Read through some of the posts in other areas in the eductaion dept.

Mike
Parent - - By stever (**) Date 08-13-2003 18:42
I hope you have an excellent experience with any welding school that you may attend.

Ask questions before you enroll and after. Search out students that have attended or are presently attending. Question them remembering that you are gonna get "best instructors/school" and "worst instructor/school" answers. Ask why these answers were given. Visit the welding lab on a busy day/evening. Hopefully, the instructor will allow you to tour the lab and speak to people.

I have been training weldors for over 20 years in the local community colleges and a high school. I have had personal experiences with numerous instructors that have worked with me, for me, and around me. Each one had their own personallity. I expect all instructors that work with me to spend lab time welding with students. If an instructor has personal business, projects, class prep, etc, it will be done after the student leaves. The student is why the instructor has a job.