Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / Shop welding vs. field welding
- - By thcqci (***) Date 08-19-2003 12:55
10 to 15 years ago I was an NDE technician and CWI performing 3rd party field inspections (structural, ASME, API, etc.). As our business focus changed, I gradually left field work and only performed welder and procedure qualification tests for several years. In the last couple of years, I changed jobs and am now the lead QC inspector for a structural steel fabricator. I have had a few opportunities to take site visits to structures we are providing steel for (that is usually not a good thing!).

Is it my imagination or do I just have a bad memory? I do not remember field welding looking nearly as bad as it does compared to our shop welding! I do not remember signing off on the cruddy looking welds like I see on some of our projects with field welding. I have been looking at E7018 and FCAW-S welds. UGLY!!! I have seen porosity, poor profile, undercut, lack of slag removal, etc. Yes, there was some difference between shop and field welds due to many out of position weld in the field that are not performed in our shop. But welds still have to meet code requirements. It matters not whether they were deposited in the shop or in the field. As I talk to outside inspectors who frequent our shop, they tell me if they did not accept some of the welding in the field, no buildings would ever be bought off.

Is there a new code book that I have not read? AWS CFWA1.1 - Structural Welding Code - Steel - Cruddy Field Welding Allowed or maybe just a chapter about field welding in my code book that I missed or that AWS forgot to include in my code book?