Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / complications with welding copper nickel
- - By dadeacon Date 08-25-2003 04:36
Hello all. I'm a welder of 26 yrs., and never have I had such a hard time at success as with the welding of copper nickel. I'm building a finned tube, made of copper nickel to a stainless steel block (300 series). We use inconel as the filler material. The (cn)tube is thin walled, approx. .040, and the block is approx. 1 1/2". It seems the problem is the different melting temperatures of each material. The stainless melts faster, and the copper nickel much slower; and of course the wire a bit slower.
I use a technique where I apply a "cold" pass of inconel onto the stainless, then another pass on top. After allowing to cool, I fuse the top pass to the copper nickel tube. In "every" case/job I get both indications (penatrent testing) and/or leaks in the hydro test. After several attempts - back and forth with the tests- I can usually seal it off; but by then I have a much larger weld bead than what is called for (.12 fillet). Also, it doesn't look so nice. Is it the heat, gas, (argon for both shielding and back purge), filler material, cleanliness or my technique???????
I'd bet there's a guru, well expert out there that has the solution. I hope. Please help.
Parent - - By Niekie3 (***) Date 08-25-2003 20:28
Hi dadeacon

Maybe we will be able to help more if you told us what types of defects you are getting. Porosity, pinholes or lack of fusion? Also, where do the defects lie? In the weld metal, on the tubesheet side, or on the tube side? Also, which process are you using? GTAW? Which grade of Inconel wire are you using?

Regards
Niekie Jooste
Fabristruct Solutions
Parent - - By dadeacon Date 08-29-2003 04:01