Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / shielding gasses for stainless
- - By mikec Date 08-29-2003 23:09
Hello, I work in a shop that welds a lot of light gage stainless,( 18ga.-10 ga. )with the GMAW process, and we have always used the tri-mix, 90 He,7.5 Ar, 2.5 Co2. Could anyone tell me if there are other gas mixtures that might work just as good or better? And maybe more cost effective. Can 75 AR-25 Co2 be used on these light gages without any adverse effects? Also, we use pure Argon for all our GTAW on stainless, has anyone used a hydrogen-argon mixture for this process on light gage stainless described above? Thank you to anyone who can help straighten me out.
Parent - By kekoakeakane (*) Date 08-30-2003 07:28
I haven't had a chance to try it, but Ed Craig of http://www.weldreality.com/ recommends a 97 AR - 3 Co2 mix be used for Stainless vice the popular Tri-Mix. His arguments are quite compelling towards using the lower energy AR versus He. Although light gauge stainless can be welded with 75 AR - 25 Co2, the mix can be problematic in that you are introducing a large concentration of Carbon into the Stainless which can lead to cracking.
Parent - - By n5uzt (**) Date 08-30-2003 14:44
contact your local gas supplier and get some gas for demo
98/2 co2 works well and u can use 100 percent arg.
Parent - By TimGary (****) Date 08-30-2003 17:03
A while back we were using GMAW with 100% Argon to weld some SS 304 10 gage sheet. I was not happy with the results as the bead always came out rough looking with poor penetration and didn't wet well along the edges.
We wound up switching over to flux core with 90% Argon and 10% CO2 which performed much better.
I haven't tried the FCAW on 18 gage yet.

Good Luck!
Tim
Parent - By mikew (*) Date 08-31-2003 02:08