Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Need help with shakiness in my hands
- - By Kawika Date 10-06-2003 04:19
I'm a new student of welding, and was wondering if there was any addvice that someone could give to overcome this?
Thank You, kawika
Parent - - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 10-06-2003 10:18
Hello Kawika!!!
Welcome!!!
I don't know if this will help but, I had a liver transplant on 10/08/97
(Wow!!! it's going to be SIX years this coming Wednesday!!!)...
After about a year or so in my recovery, I went back to school to see if I could still weld. I quickly found out that I still had what it takes, so to speak...
I also noticed that I had this tremor or uncontrollable "shakiness" in my hand that was'nt there prior to my transplant, in fact the tremor was in both hands!!!
I spoke to a physical therapist to get some ideas on how I could reduce the "shakiness in my hands". The therapist suggested to relax, get comfortable with your position with respect to the weld area or joint position, control your breathing better, and to find some sort of support for my wrists that would minimize the localized tremor I was experiencing as a result of being on steroids and anti-rejection medicine (Prograf) which I must take for the rest of my life until the experts can come up with something better...
So, after trying a number of cumbersome support devices designed for carpal-tunnel syndrome, and not getting the results I was looking for, I decided to try a regular pair of athletic wrist sweatbands, and lo & behold!!! The solution to my problem was found!!!
I know that this helps with other people that do not have the same condition as I did, and yet nonetheless - experience the " shakiness in my hands". I mean no disrespect when I say this...