Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / AWS Vs British Standards
- - By akilan Date 10-06-2003 14:28
Our welders and procedures are Qualified to AWS D 1.1

For a job which require welders and procedures to be qualified to BS EN 287 & 288, the consultant agrees to approve AWS, if I justify that AWS is better or equivalent than British Standard.

Any Expert opinion is appreciated.
Parent - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 10-07-2003 13:17
Hello Akilan!!!
Although I'm not an expert in British standards or EN 287 & 288, there is a very good website at: http://www.gowelding.com that might bring you closer to jusitfying that the AWS is at least equivalent (most likely as stringent or more in required testing) to what are now being replaced by the new ISO standards if I remember correctly...

There is a wealth of information in this website pertaining to your query, and if you ca'nt find the answers that you're seeking then, you can e-mail the person (I forgot his name) that runs this site, who has considerable experiences with British standards, and by the way, he's a registered European Welding Engineer...

Another place where you might find the justifications you seek is:
http://www.twi.co.uk (The Welding Institute of the U.K.).
Have you contacted the AWS for help???

I hope you find what you're looking for, and I'm sure others that frequent this forum will help also, unless that is, if you're taking jobs from us "Yanks" here in the good old U.S.A !!!
No disrespect to all of you gents from the south or Boston Red Sox fans but, that's what the brits call us...
GO YANKEES!!! May the BEST TEAM WIN!!!

Respectfully,

SSBN727 Run Silent... Run Deep!!!
Parent - By G.S.Crisi (****) Date 10-07-2003 20:56