Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / What kind of tig do I need?
- - By T0M (*) Date 10-22-2003 23:51
Hello I am somewhat new to welding but am about to buy a tig welder.
I will be doing aluminum pipes, Intercooler and radiator cores, and intake manifolds.

but I will also be doing exhaust and exhaust manifolds, all with 5/16" flanges, as well as suspension parts and tube frame chassis.

I have been leaning toward a syncrowave 350 for the power , but am also being told that a dynasty 200dx would do me fine and I would appreciate the arc control and weld appearance.

any info would be appreciated.
Parent - - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 10-23-2003 01:38
Hi TOM!
First things first... Welcome to the forum!!!
Now to get back to your question... The Synchrowave 350 does offer a lot of power but, it also asks for alot of power (KW) to run it when you compare it to an inverter type power source!!!
I would suggest you visit the Miller Electric website (although for some reason or another, I cannot seem to get to their site tonight for some reason or another) so that you can compare for yourself the amount of (KW's) each power source draws while both idle and when welding to see these, and other differences or similarities for that matter... The cost of operation differences alone are pretty convincing!!! There are other things to consider, but I think I'll leave that to another forum member named "brande" because he knows more about these, and other power sources than I do!!!
The Maxstar 200 models are some mighty fine inverters if you ask me, and they come with certain features that the synchrowaves simply do not offer!!! Not to say that the Synchrowave is'nt a nice SMAW/GTAW (Stick/TIG) power source, ohh no!!!