Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding Career Advice?????
- - By jdove55 (*) Date 10-25-2003 01:06
I have about 4 years of experience and I went to a two year technical college for welding. My problem is this, it seems as though the only jobs I can find are in production shops, making large numbers of trinkets. I have applied to the local iron workers union. I am just wondering if I would be able to adjust to being high up in the air, if they take me on. I am currently taking an evening coarse to brush up on and improve my tig skills. I like tig welding, I just feel I need to do it everyday to get really good at it. I am pretty good at aluminum. I need some work on stainless. I guess my main question is if anybody has some advice to help a young guy like me get some good experience in the field. A lot of places tell me I need more experience. How can I get experience if everybody says this??? I want to learn and I will work hard to do it.
Parent - - By ssbn727 (*****) Date 10-25-2003 02:45
Hi Jdove55!
Have you tried the Sheetmetal workers union or the Pipefitters/Steamfitters locals in your area? They have pretty good apprenticeship programs that are well worth it... The Ironworkers do not do much TIG (GTAW) welding so, that's where I would inquire!!!
The Machinists and Aerospace workers also have an excellent program!!!