Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Processes / Need assistance with learning to braze.
- - By - Date 11-04-2003 03:33
i want to braze mild steel to mild steel.I just don't know the correct procedures?....I wish somebody could list them in order like even maybe some pictures!....

I for example can just do just this so far with a bare rod!

I dip a small part of the heated rod into the flux to obtain some.

Then I heat the base metals like a lap for example to dull cherry red.

Then I don't know what to do from there and how for an example would I go about brazing with a pre-coated rod?....Does the precoated rod have to be heated up.Remember I am new at this process but willing to learn as days go by.

Once the flux is on the rod what do I do?....Do the base metals have to have flux already on them before?....I need someone to explain step to step but I can't find any instructional details on the handy harman site for brazing mild steel to mild steel.I know you have to have the metal heated to a cherry red state but what do I do?