Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Just bought a welder..
- - By TonyPa Date 11-15-2003 03:23
I am new to the welding game..."not that it is a game"....

But I just purchased my first welder....I bought a Lincoln mig...sp-135t

Was this a good choice..?....
I am gonna be doing motorcycle frames/tanks/ stuff like that, just in my personal little workshop messing around....etc.....
Here's the link to the info on the welder...I didn't want to put it all here...

http://www.mylincolnelectric.com/Catalog/equipmentdatasheet.asp?p=2515

I hope I made a good choice on this welder..I paid 400 for it at sears.....

Thanks in advance....Great site!!!
Parent - - By gangel99 (*) Date 11-15-2003 17:00
I've got the older version (SP 125) and been very happy. It is limited in terms of duty cycle and you ideally need a 25amp circuit but it works great up to 1/8" mild steel. I have done up to 1/4" by beveling the joints and doing multiple passes.
Parent - - By TonyPa Date 11-17-2003 01:47
Thanks!!!....

I only have a 20 amp circuit in my garage...ah-ow!!

I am not sure of the motorcycle frames, as in what thickness steel. I am still looking into it. hope it does the job for me...Of course, after a plenty of practice!

thanks for answering me..Much appreciated!!!
Parent - - By bzzzzzzzzzz (**) Date 11-17-2003 11:58